Young man Blog

Everything about cars, fashion and games.

Ken Block Wins His Fifth Consecutive 100 Acre Wood Rally

leave a comment »

Sunday, February 28, 2010
Ken Block and Alex Gelsomino of the Monster World Rally Team have claimed their fifth consecutive 100 Acre Wood Rally win. Block drove the Open Class Ford Fiesta to victory despite having a tough first day and starting the second leg over a minute behind rally leader, Travis Pastrana. The Ford driver was able to gain some ground after Antoine L’Estage dropped to third place due to a water crossing visibility issue and a puncture on the second stage of the day.

Subaru Rally Team USA’s Travis Pastrana held a fast pace and a comfortable lead over Block and L’Estage until Pastrana broke his car’s left rear control arm on the Super Special Stage in Potosi and was unable to continue. With Pastrana out of contention, L’Estage pushed to catch Block and posted comparatively close stage times with him, but Block was able to maintain his lead to the end.

An ecstatic Block said, “This is the location of my first national rally win, so I have now won this rally five years in a row and it is a pretty good feeling to get the Fiesta home in first.”

Having secured his consecutive second-place finish this season, the Rockstar Mitsubishi Evo driver from Quebec now leads the Rally America Championship with 34 points. Privateer Bill Bacon joined L’Estage on the podium again despite having some difficulties with his Mitsubishi’s new set up, but Bacon’s consistency has now put him second in the overall championship standings with 28 points.

Subaru Rally Team USA’s, Dave Mirra, driving an Open Class car for only the second time this season placed 4th overall for his best finish to date.

The father-son team of Travis and Terry Hanson had another remarkable performance, winning the Super Production class by over two and a half minutes over their closest rivals. Attrition was heavy in Super Production, with several crews retiring throughout the rally with various mechanical issues. Tim Rooney and Dennis Hotson placed second in class followed by Wazoo Racing’s Tim Penasack and Alex Kihurani.

In the 2-Wheel Drive Class, Chris Duplessis and Catherine Woods remained dominant with another win in their 1990 Volkswagen Golf. Duplessis had reported alignment problems on the first day of the rally, but finished 10th overall with a nearly six minute spread over reigning Group 2 Champ, Dillon Van Way. John Conley and Keith Rudolph finished third in class.

The Rally in the 100 Acre Wood also hosted the Rally America Regional Championship, where regional winners from 2009 gathered to shoot it out for top honors. This year, the husband-wife team of Henry and Cynthia Krolikowski won the showdown for the Central Region in an Open Class 2000 Subaru Impreza.

The next national event on the Rally America calendar is the Olympus Rally in Olympia, Washington this April 24-25.

Rally car racing is considered the extreme sport of automobile racing and is often described simply as “real cars, real roads, real fast.” This all-season motorsport sees drivers and their co-drivers take modified road cars to the limit as they achieve blistering speeds over courses that cover more than 100 miles of gravel, dirt or snow-covered roads.

This year there will be six forest events from Maine to Washington, before X Games 16, plus three new European style rallycross events after X Games — all based in Southern New Jersey.

Top teams in the series are also invited to compete in the Summer X Games, the leading action sports event broadcast live on ABC and ESPN.

All results are considered provisional pending official post-event race processes.

About Rally America
Based in Golden Valley, Minn., Rally America sanctions the premier rally racing series in the United States, the Rally America National Championship Series. In 2010, Rally America will conduct six National Championship events at venues across the country, from Olympia, Wash., to Bethel, Maine, and three European style rallycross events in New Jersey.

These results are unofficial and subject to change.

O/A Car # Class I/C Driver / CoDriver Time Diff Leader Diff Previous


1 43 O 1 Ken Block / Alessandro Gelsomino
2009 Ford Fiesta
1:27:06.1 0:00.0 0:00.0
2 17 O 2 Antoine L’Estage / Nathalie Richard
2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X
1:27:27.0 0:20.9 0:20.9
3 68 O 3 William Bacon / Peter Watt
2006 Mitsubishi EVO IX
1:30:24.1 3:18.0 2:57.1
4 40 O 4 Dave Mirra / Martin Headland
2010 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
1:32:28.2 5:22.1 2:04.1
5 523 SP 1 Travis Hanson / Terry Hanson
2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
1:36:06.1 9:00.0 3:37.9
6 1 115 O 5 1 Joseph Burke / Brian Sharkey
2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII
1:37:50.8 10:44.7 1:44.7
7 1 693 O 6 1 Carl Decker / Mike Rossey
1993 Subaru Impreza
1:38:11.6 11:05.5 0:20.8
8 47 SP 2 Timothy Rooney / Dennis Hotson
2008 Subaru Impreza Sti
1:38:40.6 11:34.5 0:29.0
9 198 O 7 Arkadiusz Gruszka / Dominik Jozwiak
2006 Mitsubishi EVO IX
1:39:19.5 12:13.4 0:38.9
10 1 70 2WD 1 Christopher Duplessis / Catherine Woods
1990 Volkswagen GTI
1:40:56.5 13:50.4 1:37.0
11 1 19 SP 3 Timothy Penasack / Alexander Kihurani
2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STi
1:40:59.5 13:53.4 0:03.0
12 494 SP 4 Roman Pakos / Don DeRose
2006 Subaru STI
1:41:08.6 14:02.5 0:09.1
13 418 SP 5 Jimmy Keeney / Jason Grahn
2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
1:41:50.2 14:44.1 0:41.6
14 1 377 O 8 Mason Moyle / Scott Putnam
1999 Subaru Impreza
1:46:01.4 18:55.3 4:11.2
15 1 600 2WD 2 Dillon Van Way / Benjamin Slocum
2002 Ford Focus
1:46:08.7 19:02.6 0:07.3
16 116 O 9 Nathan Conley / Brandye Conley
2004 Subaru Impreza
1:51:45.6 24:39.5 5:36.9
17 888 SP 6 George Georgakopoulos / Aaron Crescenti

(backing up in a control depth) +10:00.0

Total as of SS15 +10:00.0
25:46.0 1:06.5
18 155 2WD 3 John Conley / Keith Rudolph
2003 Dodge SRT-4

(22 min late into ATC4) +3:40.0
(7 min late to MTC) +1:10.0

Total as of SS15 +4:50.0
37:22.8 11:36.8
19 289 2WD 4 Gary Wiggin / Kim DeMotte
1991 Volkswagen GTI
2:10:01.3 42:55.2 5:32.4
20 118 2WD 5 Nick Allen / Erik Lee
1986 Volkswagen Gulf
2:19:17.3 52:11.2 9:16.0
  477 SP   Don Conley / Christopher Herlache
2007 Subaru WRX Wagon
  319 2WD   Chris Greenhouse / Christopher Gordon
1995 Plymouth Neon
  41 2WD   Burak Tuglu / Carrie Wilburn
2001 Ford Focus
  54 O   Mark Fox / Karen Wagner
2004 Subaru Impreza
  401 SP   Byron Garth / Sky Pinnick
2006 Subaru WRX
  61 SP   Piotr Wiktorczyk / Grzegorz Dorman
2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STi
  59 SP   Patrick Moro / Ole Holter
2005 Subaru STI
DNF: Fuel problems
  199 O   Travis Pastrana / Christian Edstrom
2010 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
  669 SP   Evan Cline / Jake Blattner
1992 Mitsubishi GSX-a-tron

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: